The New York Jets today announced their inaugural International Fan of the Year: United Kingdom-based Frazer Campbell.

Frazer, who lives on the Isle of Man, will represent the Jets at the 2024 NFL Draft in Detroit, where the overall winner of the International Fan of the Year competition will be announced.

He was given the news on a surprise zoom call with Jets star tight end Tyler Conklin, and couldn’t disguise his delight:

“I’m totally shocked right now, I don’t even know what to say!”

“It does mean a lot for you to actually come on and speak to me – it means more than you could imagine.”

This year marked the first year that the Fan of the Year contest was extended to international waters, with the NFL set to announce the full list of 32 club nominees on March 1st.

The representatives will all travel to Detroit on 25 April, when the 2024 NFL Draft will take place, with a special programme of events and activities scheduled.

A number of Jets fans from around the world sent off applications in a highly competitive process that was launched back in September last year.

Frazer has helped to set up and run the Jets fan group ‘Gang Green UK’ along with fellow British fans, bringing together die hard followers from across the country both on digital platforms and at a number of in-person events.

“We started the group… trying to find a few fans as we didn’t think there were many in the United Kingdom, and at first there weren’t.”

“But that group has basically turned into a family. I could never imagine not watching football and not supporting the Jets for that reason. It becomes bigger than football.”

Why the Jets?

“I wanted somewhere that I could go quite easily… and I’d always wanted to go to New York. My soccer team – Celtic – play in green and white… it became an easy choice from that moment to be honest!”

“I go to bed at night thinking about the NFL, I wake up and the first thing I do is go straight on Twitter to see if there’s any news.”

Congratulations to Frazer on becoming the International Fan of the Year, and thanks to every fan who submitted an application!